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This bulletin will present recent play situations that have 

occurred in Connecticut games this season. As a reminder, 

Connecticut has six (6) area rules interpreters, and a state 

interpreter who serves as our liaison to the CIAC.  We are 

members of the International Association of Approved 

Basketball Officials (IAABO); the world’s oldest, largest and 

most respected organization dedicated to the education and 

continuous improvement of basketball officials. We annually 

train our officials to follow the rules and points of emphasis 

publicized by the CIAC and the NFHS. 

 

The following individuals are the Connecticut high school 

basketball rules interpreters:  

 

Board #6 - Hartford & Middlesex Counties   

  Peter Palermino - State Interpreter   
        ppalermino38@comcast.net  

Board #7 - Litchfield County   

  Charley Harbach  charbach@charter.net  

Board #8 - New London County  

  Michael Thomas    interpreter@iaabo8.org   

Board #9 - Fairfield County  

  David Raila    dr54dr@live.com  

Board #10 - New Haven County  

  Ray Vanacore   ray.j.vanacore@lmco.com 

Board #35 - Tolland & Windham Counties 

  Charlie Lee   ceelee@snet.net 

 

PLAY SITUATIONS 

Situation #1 – During the second of two free throws by A1, B5 

breaks the plane of the three-point line before the ball hits the 

ring.  A1’s free throw attempt misses the ring. The official 

penalizes both violations. Ruling – Correct, penalize both 

violations, Use the AP arrow and put the ball in play on the end 

line near a lane line for a designated spot throw in.  (Rule 9-1-

3c, 9-1-3f, 9-1 Penalties 3, 4b, and 4c) 

  

Situation #2  – Player A-1 jumps and secures a rebound among 

a crowd of players underneath Team A’s basket.  Several 

players lose their balance and fall down. A-1 also loses his/her 

balance and falls on top of the other players but does not touch 

the floor.  A-1, while lying on the other players, manages to 

pass the ball to teammate A-2, who scores. Is this a legal play? 

Ruling – This is legal. Rule 4-44-5 states that player must 

touch the playing court for a traveling violation to be ruled.     

 

Situation #3 – Are there color restrictions on knee pads? 

Ruling – Knee pads are considered leg sleeves; therefore, they 

must be black, white, beige, or the predominant color of the 

jersey and the same color for every player.  A knee brace (Rule 

3-5-3a, b, c - NOTE) does not need to meet color restrictions.  

 

Any legal apparel worn by players in addition to the uniform 

MUST meet the color requirements and be the same color for 

EVERY player. Undershirts, however, must be same color as 

the game jersey.   

 

Situation #4 - A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls 

to the floor inbounds. A1, who is off balance, steps off the 

playing court, returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and 

dribbles.  Ruling – Legal. A1 did not leave the court 

voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she 

did. A1 may return to the playing court, regain inbound status 

and then regain control of ball. (Rule 4-35-1a, 7-1-1, 9-3-3, 

Case Book 7.1.1 Situation B)   
     
Situation #5 – A1 blocks a pass near the side line and the ball 

goes into A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out 

of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures 

control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. Is this a legal 

play?  Ruling – Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3, Case Book 7.1.1 

Situation C) 

 

Situation #6 – A1’s throw-in is caught by A2 with 2 feet in the 

air. A2 jumped from the frontcourt, controlled the ball in the 

air, and while still in the air passed the ball to A3, who is in the 

backcourt. Is this a legal play?  Ruling – No, this is a backcourt 

violation. The throw-in exception only applies to the player 

initially receiving the throw-in pass. Since the throw-in has 

ended, all backcourt rules apply. Had A2 just landed in the 

backcourt, there would have been no violation. (Rule 9-9-3, 

Case Book 9.9.1.E)    

 

Situation #7 – Can team members wear head phones during 

warm-ups, on the bench, between quarters, etc.?  Ruling – This 

is illegal. Headphones are not appropriate equipment for the 

game of basketball. (Rule 3-5-1, 3-5-4-e: Head decorations and 

headwear, except those specified above (i.e. - headbands), are 

prohibited, Case Book 3.5 Situation A:  While this situation 

references jewelry, you can substitute "decorative necklace" 

with "head phones" and the ruling is the same. 

 

Situation #8 - Alternating Possession Arrow – Reverse or 

No Reverse? 

Rule 6.4.5 states - The opportunity to make an alternating 

possession throw-in is lost if throw-in team violates. Team A 

has ball for throw-in to start 3
rd

 quarter and is ruled for an out-

of- bounds violation. Team A loses the ball due to the violation 

and the AP arrow is reversed to Team B. Rule 6.4.5 also states: 

If either team fouls during an alternating possession throw-in, 

it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession 

arrow.  Team A has ball for throw-into start 3
rd

 quarter. A1 

commits blocking (team control) foul. Team A loses the ball 

but retains the AP arrow, which is not reversed.  
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