Connecticut State Board of Approved Basketball Officials
Interpreters Bulletin

This bulletin will present recent play situations that have occurred in
Connecticut games this season. As a reminder, Connecticut has six (6)
area rules interpreters, and a state interpreter who serves as our liaison
to the CIAC. We are members of the International Association of
Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO); the world’s oldest, largest
and most respected organization dedicated to the education and
continuous improvement of basketball officials. We annually train our
officials to follow the rules and points of emphasis publicized by the
CIAC and the NFHS.
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The following individuals are the Connecticut high school basketball
rules interpreters:

Board #6 - Hartford & Middlesex Counties
Peter Palermino - State Interpreter
ppalermino38@comcast.net
Board #7 - Litchfield County
Charley Harbach
charbach@charter.net
Board #8 — New London County
Michael Thomas

Board #9 - Fairfield County
David Raila
dr54dr@live.com
Board #10 - New Haven & Middlesex Counties
Ray Vanacore

Board #35 - Tolland & Windham Counties
Ben Wakely
ben_wakely@hotmail.com

PLAY SITUATIONS

Situation #1 — After a time-out, Team A returns with 6 players.
Officials do not notice. Al is successful with a 2-pt try. As B1 is
dribbling up the court, Team B coach yells that Team A has 6 players
on court. Trail confirms this and sounds whistle. The officials discuss
the play and rule as follows: A1’s goal counts, a team technical foul is
assessed to Team A, and play is resumed with two free throws for
Team B and a throw-in by Team B opposite division line. Are the
officials correct?

Ruling: Yes. This is not a correctable error, so Rule 2.10 does not
apply. Officials must see 6 players playing at same time in order to rule
a team technical. Rule 10-2-2, Casebook 10.2.2.

Situation #2 — B1 fouls Al in the backcourt. This is Team B’s 5" foul.
The players get tangled up and fall to the floor. Al throws the ball at
B1. Official rules a technical foul on Al. As official goes toward the
table to report the technical foul on A1, B1 curses Al and official rules
a technical foul on B1. There is approximately 10 seconds between the
two technical fouls. How is this situation officiated?

Ruling: Officials should report common foul on B1, and unsporting
technical fouls on Al and B1. Two (2) free throws are awarded to
Team B and Team A followed by a throw in by Team A at the division
line opposite the table. This is not a double technical foul as there was
a time lapse between unsporting actions by Al and B1. Rule 4-19-9.

Situation #3 — During a 30-second time-out, the five (5) Team A
players join their teammates and sit on the bench. The official informs
the coach that the five (5) players must remain standing in the time-out
area and the teammates must remain on the bench. Is the official
correct?

Ruling: No. The 5 players and bench personnel are allowed to stand
during a 30 second time-out. Rule 5-11-3, 1-13-3.

Situation #4 — Between the end of the fourth quarter and the start of
the overtime period, Team A, which has used all of their allotted time-
outs, is granted a time-out. The official grants the time-out without
penalty because Team A is entitled to one additional time-out during
each extra period. Is the official correct?

Ruling: No. The additional 60-second time-out provided for each
extra period(s) shall not be granted until after the ball has become live
to start the extra period(s). Rule 5-11-5.

Situation #5 — Al is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to
the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3
touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers the
ball in the backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation in both
cases. Is the official correct?

Ruling: In (a), yes, it is a backcourt violation. The ball was in control
of Al, A2 was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt, and A2 was the
first to touch the ball in the backcourt. In (b), no, this is a legal play.
B3 was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, therefore, A2 can
recover the ball in the backcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-
second count. Rule 9-9-1, Casebook 9.9.1 C.

Situation #6 — Al is holding or dribbling the ball near the division line
in the frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into the air into the
backcourt. Prior to the ball touching the floor in the backcourt, the ball
is caught or is touched by A5 who is located in the backcourt. The
official rules this is a legal play. Is the official correct?

Ruling: Yes. Rule 9-9-1 (EXCEPTION), Casebook 9.9.1.F.

Situation #7 — Al jumps to attempt a 2-point try. B1 hits the ball out
of A1’s hands. Al recovers the ball while in the air and lands on the
floor. The official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?
Ruling: Yes. When the ball is hit out of Al’s hands, there is no longer
player control. Therefore, Al can recover the ball in the air.

Rule 4-12-6.

Situation #8 — A1 jumps to attempt a 2-point try. B1 prevents the ball
from leaving his/her hands and Al lands on the floor. The official
rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

Ruling: No. This is a held ball since B1 prevented the try from leaving
Al’s hands. Rule 4-25-2.

Situation #9 - A-1 stops his/her dribble at the foul line and establishes
the right foot as the pivot foot. A-1 looks to pass the ball, but is unable
to. A-1 jumps off their right foot and lands simultaneously on both feet
and attempts a try for goal. The official rules this is a legal jump stop.
Is the official correct?

Ruling: No. After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if the
player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is
released on a pass or try for goal. Rule 4-44-3b.
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