2009 Governor'S Scholars Announced

Under the direction of Education Commissioner, Mark McQuillan, the Connecticut Association of Schools (CAS) and Big Y World Class Markets have again collaborated to extend the Governor’s Scholars Program. Now in its thirteenth year, the purpose of the program is to recognize academically talented high school students in schools throughout the state, and present thirty students for special recognition to the Governor of Connecticut.

All principals of CAS member high schools are given the opportunity to nominate one junior ranked in the top four percent of his/her class. An essay on an assigned topic has to be completed. Members of the Governor’s Scholars Committee, professional educators from throughout Connecticut, judge the completed applications and assigned a composite score to each based on rank in class, PSAT or SAT scores, CAPT scores, and the student essay. Laura Ferrante-Fernandes, Chair of the Governor’s Scholars Committee, is pleased to announce the thirty finalists in this year’s competition and, on behalf of the CT State Department of Education, CAS, and Big Y, extend congratulations to:

• Amar Agashe, Newtown High School, Sandy Hook
• Lauren Bradley, Vinal Technical High School, Middletown
• Iona Brockie, Wolcott High School
• Kenneth Crouch, Danbury High School
• Rebecca D'Angelo, Wheeler High School, North Stonington
• Michael Deneen, Jr., Northwest Catholic High School, West Hartford
• Andrew Gagne, Darien High School
• Sarah Gustafson, Wilton High School
• Katherine Han, Cheshire High School
• Stephanie Havens, New Canaan High School
• Eric Ho, New Milford High School
• Richika Makol, Manchester High School
• Brian McNellis, Holy Cross High School, Waterbury
• Caitlin O'Connor, Bolton High School
• Michelle Paradis, Bristol Central High School
• Ragini Phansalkar, Stamford High School
• Varun Ravishanker, Haddam-Killingworth High School, Higganum
• Rebecca Sajkowicz, Griswold High School
• Jeremy Sharpe, Windham High School, Willimantic
• Victoria Shih, Ridgefield High School
• Sumegh Sodani, Farmington High School
• Dakota Spear, Amity Regional High School, Woodbridge
• Joseph Steady, Waterford High School
• Jacob Stern, Guilford High School
• Adam Strawbridge, Daniel Hand High School, Madison
• Rodney Sutherland, Howell Cheney Technical High School, Manchester
• Norbert Szmyt, Crosby High School, Waterbury
• Alexander Tougas, Wethersfield High School
• Jacob Wyse, Litchfield High School
• Nan Zhao, Shelton High School

All of the distinguished nominees will be recognized at their schools for their outstanding work and participation in this program. The thirty students listed above will attend the Governor’s Scholars Luncheon at The Aqua Turf Club in Southington on May 21, 2009. At the reception, Governor’s Scholars will receive recognition as well as information on participation in courses at selected Connecticut colleges and universities. Included in the latter is a four-year, half-tuition scholarship to the University of Connecticut for any of the thirty Governor’s Scholars who choose to matriculate there.

Big Y has been a dedicated corporate partner of CAS since 1997. Big Y was founded in 1936 and currently employs over 9,100 people in fifty-six locations in Massachusetts and Connecticut.