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This bulletin will present recent play situations that have occurred in 
Connecticut games this season. As a reminder, Connecticut has six (6) 
area rules interpreters, and a state interpreter who serves as our liaison 
to the CIAC.  We are members of the International Association of 
Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO); the world’s oldest, largest 
and most respected organization dedicated to the education and 
continuous improvement of basketball officials. We annually train our 
officials to follow the rules and points of emphasis publicized by the 
CIAC and the NFHS. 
 
The following individuals are the Connecticut high school basketball 
rules interpreters: 
 
Board #6 - Hartford & Middlesex Counties   
Charlene Shepard  

charleneshepard@hotmail.com 
Board #7 - Litchfield County   
Charley Harbach - State Interpreter 

charbach@charter.net  
Board #8 – New London County  
Michael Thomas  

interpreter@iaabo8.org   
Board #9 - Fairfield County  
David Raila  

dr54dr@live.com  
Board #10 - New Haven & Middlesex Counties  
Ray Vanacore 
 rvanacore162@gmail.com 
Board #35 - Tolland & Windham Counties 
Ben Wakely 

ben_wakely@hotmail.com 
     

PLAY SITUATIONS 

 
Situation #1: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. 
Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before 
airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official rules a 
blocking foul on B1 and the other official rules a charging foul on A1. 
The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful. 

RULING:  Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging 
foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a 
double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to 
become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the 
point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere 
along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try in flight; 
therefore, the alternating-possession procedure is used.  Rules 4-19-8, 
4-36, Casebook 4.19.8 SITUATION C. 

 
Situation #2: A1 has the ball for a throw-in.  After A1 releases the ball, 
but before the throw-in is touched or touches another player, an 
inadvertent whistle is sounded.  How is play resumed? 
 
RULING:   Play would resume from the point of interruption (POI), 
which was possession by A for the throw-in, because a loose ball is still 
control of the team that last had possession, which was A's throw-
in.  Similar to a double foul when a pass is in flight, the ball would be 
put back into play using POI at the spot nearest to where the ball was 
when the pass was released.  Rules 4-4-3, 4-36-2a, 6-7-5.  

 
 
Situation #3: Player A1 jumps and secures a rebound among a crowd 
of other players.  A1, who is off balance, comes down and falls on top 
of other players who have also fallen to the floor.  A1 is lying on top of 
the other players, but does not touch the floor with any part of his/her 
body other than the foot.  The official rules a traveling violation for 
falling down, is the official correct. 
 
RULING:  NO: While it is true that A1 fell, he/she did not touch the 
floor with any part of the body other than the hand or foot.  A1 in this 
case, may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call time out.  Rule 4-44-5. 
 
 
Situation #4: While the ball is in flight on a field goal try, time expires 
in the third quarter.  Before the try ends, A2 is assessed a technical 
foul.  The official starts the fourth quarter with Team B attempting the 
free throws for the technical foul.  Is the official correct?   
 
RULING:  NO.  : The technical foul was assessed before the third 
quarter ended and Team B will be awarded 2 free throws as part of the 
third quarter. Upon completion of the 2 technical free throws, the third 
quarter will end.  Since no penalty or part of a penalty carries over from 
one quarter to the next, the fourth quarter will begin with the 
alternating possession arrow.  Rule 5-6-2 exception 3. 
 
Situation #5: Player A1 completes a throw-in to teammate A2 to begin 
the third quarter. After receiving the pass, A2 becomes confused and 
dribblers toward the basket of Team A used during the first half. A2 
dunks the ball into the basket of Team B.  

Ruling: This is a legal goal for Team B. Two points are awarded to 
Team B. The official will then bound the ball to a player of Team A at 
the basket of Team B. Team A may now put the ball in play anywhere 
along the end line as after any score by Team B (earned or awarded). 
Rule 5-2-3, Casebook 5.2.3. 

Situation #6: Player A1 is dribbling the ball in Team’s A frontcourt, 
closely guarded by B2. B2 knocks the ball away from A1. While A1 
and B2 are both trying to retrieve the loose ball, A1 is whistled for a 
foul for contact that displaces B2 on the way to the ball. What is the 
result?  

Ruling: When B2 knocked the ball away from A1, the result is an 
interrupted dribble. Team A maintains team control during an 
interrupted dribble. A1’s foul against B2 is a team control foul. B2 
does not receive free throws even if Team B is in the bonus. Team B 
shall receive a throw-in at the spot nearest to where the foul occurred. 
Rules 4-12-1, 4-12-2, Casebook 4-12-1. 

Situation #7: Early in the first quarter, the coach of Team A confers 
with the officials to try to prevent/rectify a timing mistake. After a brief 
discussion, it is determined that there is no error. The official charges 
Team A with a 30-second timeout. Is the official correct.  

Ruling: NO. Only one 60-second timeout is charged (or a 30-second 
timeout, if that is the only type of timeout remaining) regardless of the 
amount of time consumed when NO correction is made. Rules 5-8-4, 
5-11-4.  

 
 
Be a Leader! Promote Sportsmanship! 
   


