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This bulletin will present recent play situations that have occurred in 

Connecticut games this season. As a reminder, Connecticut has five (5) 

area rules interpreters, and a state interpreter who serves as our liaison to 

the CIAC.  We are members of the International Association of 

Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO); the world’s oldest, largest and 

most respected organization dedicated to the education and continuous 

improvement of basketball officials. We annually train our officials to 

follow the rules and points of emphasis promulgated by the CIAC and 

the NFHS. 
 

The following individuals are the high school basketball rules 

interpreters:  
  
Board #6 - Hartford County  

Peter Palermino ppalermino38@comcast.net 

Board #7 - Litchfield County 

 Charles Harbach charbach@charter.net 

Board #8 - Eastern CT Counties 

Michael Thomas   interpreter@iaabo8.org 

Board #9 - Fairfield County 

David Raila dr54dr@live.com 

Board #10 - New Haven County  

Jeffrey Smith State Interpreter jsmith618ec@hotmail.com   
 

PLAY SITUATIONS 
 

Situation #1- Jumpers A1 and B1 line up for a jump ball to start the 

game.  The ball is tapped by Jumper A1 and goes directly out of bounds.  

How do officials resume play and when is AP arrow set?                

Ruling – Award ball to Team B for a designated out-of-bounds spot 

nearest where the ball became dead. Instruct timer/scorer to set 

Alternating Possession Arrow to Team A. This is not an AP arrow throw-

in. Rather it is setting the initial arrow (4-3-3a; 7-5-3) 

   

Situation #2 - A1 dives across the boundary line in an attempt to save 

the ball from going out of bounds. A1 catches the ball with both hands 

and while in the air, before A1 touches out of bounds, A1 requests a 

timeout. The official grants the request for a Team A timeout. Is the 

official correct?                                                                                  

Ruling – Yes, this play is a legal play according to the NFHS rules.      

(5-8-3) 
 

Situation #3 - Team A is awarded an AP arrow throw-in. Thrower A1 

violates by stepping over the line before releasing the ball.              

Ruling – Award ball to Team B for a designated out-of-bounds spot 

nearest the violation. Instruct timer/scorer to set Alternating Possession 

Arrow to Team B. Since A1 violated during an AP arrow throw-in, Team 

A has lost the AP arrow. Team B will have the next AP arrow throw-in. 

(Case Play 9.2.8) 
 

Situation #4 - A1 rebounds the ball while airborne. A1 falls to the floor 

while holding the ball, when he/she has lands on B2 who had fallen to 

the floor. The official rules a traveling violation on A1. Is the official 

correct? Ruling – No, this is a blocking foul on B2. The mere fact that  

B2 has fallen on the floor, does not absolve him/her from committing a  

 

 

 

 

blocking foul. B2 is not in a legal guarding position.  

(4-23-1, 2 & 4; 10-6-1) 

 

Situation #5 – A1 is dribbling toward A2 and is about to pass the ball to 

A2. B1 is moving with and guarding A2.  Before coming to a complete 

stop, A1 hands the ball off to A2 and then contacts B2.  The official rules 

it incidental contact. Is the official correct?  

Ruling - No, A1, while still in motion, created the contact with B2 and 

committed an illegal screen. Once A1 passed the ball to A2, he/she must 

abide by the screening principles as outlined in 4-40. Team A was in 

control of the ball at the time, so this should be ruled a team control 

foul. For this to be legal (incidental) contact, A1 should have been 

stationary prior to any contact with B2. 

(4-40-1, 2 & 5; 10-6-1; 10-6-7; 10-6-9) 
 

Situation #6 - With 1-second remaining in the 4th quarter, A1 attempts a 

throw-in. B1 deflects the ball out-of-bounds as the horn sounds and 

zeroes display on the game clock. The game clock does not display 

tenths of a second. After a conference, the officials have the game clock 

operator use an alternate timing device to re-administer the throw-in. Are 

the officials correct?   

Ruling – No, if the game clock does not display tenths of a second, the 

quarter ends when the horn sounds. Officials are not allowed to switch 

and use an alternate timing device that has tenths of a second.  

(1-14; 5-2-5; 5-6-2; 5-9-4; 5-10-1) 
 

Situation #7 – What and where is the violation when: (a) A1 grabs a 

rebound at Team A’s basket and passes the ball back across the division 

line, after which it is touched by A2 in the backcourt; (b) While in the 

backcourt, A1 throws a long pass which contacts the bleachers near the 

end line extended in Team A’s frontcourt. 

Rulings - In (a), This is a backcourt violation against Team A, since A1 

was in control of the ball in his/her frontcourt. No player from Team A 

may be the first to touch the ball after it has gone into the backcourt. 

Award Team B with a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot 

nearest the violation. (9-9-1, Penalty) In (b), A1 has committed a 

violation when the ball contacted the bleachers. Award Team B with a 

throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.  

(7-2a #2; 7-5-2a) 
 

Situation 8 - An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently: (a) while 

A1 is dribbling; (b) while the pass is in flight from A1 (in A’s backcourt) 

to A2 (in A’s frontcourt); (c) while A1's unsuccessful three-point try 

attempt is in flight.  

Rulings – The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (a), Team 

A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the 

ball was when the whistle was inadvertently sounded. (4-12-1, 2; 4-36-

2a; 7-4-4; 7-5-3a) In (b), since the ball is being passed among teammates 

and is in flight, it retains the same location as when it was last in contact 

with A1 in Team A’s backcourt. Therefore, Team A is awarded a throw-

in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where A1 was when the whistle 

was sounded. (4-12-2b; 4-36-2a; 7-5-3a) In (c), the ball does not become 

dead until the try ends and since there is no team control on a try, the ball 

is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-

possession procedure at a spot nearest to where A1 was last in contact 

with ball when the whistle was sounded.  (4-12-6; 4-36-2c; 7-5-3) 


